Please visit the latest ICACCI2015 website

ICACCI 2014 has been indexed in Scopus

ICACCI-2014 Delhi Photos available online

International Workshop on Under Water Communication Systems and Networks (UWCSN 2014)

In recent years, there has been an increased interest in underwater acoustic communications due to a variety of applications such as marine research, oceanography and autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV). Both academic researchers and engineers have contributed a lot of efforts and as a result, many applications, network protocols and devices have been developed. Most of them are strongly application driven and are not compatible with each other.

The research on Underwater Acoustic Networks is attracting attention given its importance in underwater applications for military and commercial purposes. The design and practical deployment of such networks face some special challenges: First of all, the cost of manufacturing, deployment, maintenance and recovery of underwater equipment is significantly higher than that of its ground-based counterpart. Secondly, energy saving/efficiency is a critical issue for such networks. Third, network deployment would be sparser compared to ground-based radio networks. This would bring forth many new challenges related to network topology design and maintenance. Finally, underwater equipments are easily prone to damage due to fouling and corrosion on exposure to the hostile underwater environment. This needs to be taken into consideration as it would have a serious impact on the operation life of the equipment. Despite all efforts and interest, the aquatic environments of our earth are largely unexplored due to the lack of technology which would provide accurate, real-time and fine grained spatio-temporal sampling. The objective of International Workshop on Under Water Communication Systems and Networks (UWCSN 2014) is to serve as a forum for presenting state-of-the-art research and development, for exchanging ideas and experiences, and for facilitating interactions and collaborations among the research community. 

UWCSN 2014 is affiliated with Third International Conference on Advances in Computing, Communications and Informatics (ICACCI-2014). The Workshop organizers invites technical papers describing original, previously unpublished results in all areas of Under Water Communication Systems and Networks.  Authors should submit their papers online using EDAS. Unregistered authors should first create an account on EDAS to log on. Further guidelines for submission are posted at:

Specific topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Application Oriented Design of Underwater Acoustic Sensor Networks
  • Design and Development of Energy Efficient Protocols and Algorithms for Underwater Communication Networks
  • Efficient Signal Processing Algorithms for Underwater Communications
  • Experimental Test Bed Results
  • Modeling, Simulation, and Test Beds for Underwater Systems and Platforms
  • Performance of Various Modulation and Coding Schemes in Underwater Environment
  • PHY Layer Modem Design and Experimental Results
  • Protocol Stack Design for Underwater Networks
  • Reliable and Energy Efficient Protocols Design
  • Software Defined Radio Based Design of Modems for Underwater Applications
  • Techniques for Efficient Underwater Communications
  • Underwater Communication Channel: Modeling and Analysis
  • Underwater Network Architectures

All submissions will be thoroughly peer-reviewed by experts in the field based on originality, significance and clarity, only papers presenting novel research results or successful innovative applications are considered for publication in the conference proceedings. The accepted and presented papers will be published in the conference proceedings and submitted to IEEE Xplore as well as other Abstracting and Indexing (A&I) databases. Independently of the presentation type, all papers are included in the proceedings.


Organising Chairs

A.V. Babu and Lillykutty Jacob, National Institute of Technology Calicut (NITC), India


TPC Members

Abdelmajid Khelil, Huawei European Research Center, Germany
Abdulrahman Azab, University of Stavanger, Norway
Ajay Gupta,  Western Michigan University, USA
Asish Mukhopadhyay, Bengal Institute of Technology & Management, India
Baosheng Li, Alcatel-Lucent, USA
Beatrice Tomasi, University of Padova, Italy
Bingxuan Zhao, Niigata University, Japan
Carlos Becker Westphall, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil
Chiu Tan, Temple University, USA
Chunyu Ai, University of South Carolina Upstate, USA
Cristina M Pinotti, University of Perugia, Italy
Dora Maros, Obuda University, Hungary
Evangelos Kranakis, Carleton University, Canada
F Tong, Xiamen University, P.R. China
Fatiha Merazka, University of Science & Technology Houari Boumediene, Algeria
Hamouma Moumen, University of Bejaia, Algeria
Harry Skianis, University of the Aegean, Greece
Hongju Cheng, Fuzhou University, P.R. China
Hrishikesh Sharma, Innovation Labs, Tata Consultancy Services Ltd., India
Hui Chen, Virginia State University, USA
Jalel Ben-Othman, University of Paris 13, France
Jia Meng, University of Houston, USA
Jiannong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic Univ, Hong Kong
Kanwalinderjit Gagneja, Southern Oregon University, USA
Kuang-Hao Lin, National Chin-Yi University of Technology, Taiwan
Kunal Mankodiya, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Leandros Maglaras, University of Thessaly, Greece
Leila Boulahia, University of Technology of Troyes, France
Ljiljana Šerić, University of Split, Croatia
Loren Schwiebert, Wayne State University, USA
Martin Fleury, University of Essex, United Kingdom
Mesut Günes, FU Berlin, Germany
Muralidhar Medidi, Georgia Southern University, USA
Pascal Lorenz, University of Haute Alsace, France
Pınar Sarısaray Boluk, Bahcesehir University, Turkey
Sabrina Sicari, University of Insubria, Italy
Saroj Lenka, MITS University, India
Seok-Hwan Park, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
Soo-Hyun Park, Kookmin University, Korea
Winston Seah, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Xianghui Cao, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
Xiangqian Chen, Florida International University, USA
Xiaohua Xu, University of Toledo, USA
Yi Pan, Georgia State University, USA
Zygmunt Haas, Cornell University, USA


Key Dates
 Paper Submission Ends July 5, 2014
 Acceptance Notification July 20, 2014
 Final Paper Deadline August 20, 2014
 Author Registration Closes August 22, 2014
 Conference 24 – 27 September 2014